You can use Snapshot Manager to revert to a specific snapshot, as well as to manage the snapshots. To open Snapshot Manager:
Using Snapshot Manager, you can:
Note: You cannot create a snapshot manually or automatically or revert to a snapshot when your virtual machine is paused.
The Virtual Machine Snapshots window consists of the following areas:
Snapshots Tree Pane
Snapshot icons appear as screen shots of the guest OS window if the virtual machine was running at the time you created a snapshot.
The left icon with a flag is the root of the snapshots tree - it is the initial state of the virtual machine used as the reference point. You cannot delete the root icon. The root icon is visible if at least one snapshot exists. If you want to delete a snapshot which is parental for some other snapshots, you can decide whether to delete only this snapshot or delete it with all the subsequent snapshots.
All snapshots in the snapshots tree are descendants of the root state of the virtual machine. The first snapshot contains "differences" with respect to the root state. The second successive snapshot contains differences with respect to the first snapshot. You may want to return to one of the previous snapshots and work with it. If you then create a new snapshot, a new snapshots branch will be created.
When the pointer is hovered over an item, you will see a tooltip message with a short description.
Snapshots Management Pane
The snapshots management pane includes the buttons necessary for managing the snapshots.
You can also manage snapshots by right-clicking them in the tree:
Going to a Snapshot
If you want to revert to the previous snapshot made on the same branch of snapshots, use the Revert To Snapshot option from the Virtual Machine menu or from the virtual machine main window toolbar. If you want to know specifically to which snapshot you will revert, you can always see your snapshots tree in Snapshot Manager.
Note: If you revert to the previous snapshot from an unsaved state of the virtual machine, you will see the notification about that. Click Yes if you want to proceed without saving the state. Click No if you want to save the state and then revert to the snapshot.
After reverting to a snapshot, it is recommended to update Parallels Tools in the virtual machine.
Deleting a Snapshot
Note: You cannot delete the root icon, but it gets automatically deleted after you delete all the other snapshots.
Merging is performed automatically when you delete any snapshot except the last one in the branch. When you delete an intermediate snapshot, the information it contains is merged into the next snapshot of the same branch.
If you delete the snapshot belonging to two branches, the information is merged into the next snapshot of each branch.
Note: If you delete the snapshot that comes after the root icon and that belongs to two branches, the branches will start directly from the initial state icon.