Previous page

Next page

Locate page in Contents

Print this page

Disable Automatically Suspending Windows

By default, when you quit Parallels Desktop, Windows is suspended, and the next time you open Parallels Desktop Windows resumes exactly from where you left off.

If more than one person uses Windows on your Mac, then a user can access the account in Windows suspended by the previous user. To avoid this, you can disable automatically suspending Parallels Desktop.

To disable automatically suspending Parallels Desktop:

  1. Do one of the following:
    • Option-click (Alt-click) the Parallels icon in the menu bar and choose Preferences, and then click General.
    • If the Parallels Desktop menu bar is visible at the top of the screen, choose Parallels Desktop > Preferences, and then click General.
  2. Select OS X Resume: Disable for Parallels Desktop.

Once automatically suspending Windows is disabled, each time you quit Parallels Desktop you can specify how you want Windows to shut down. And if you close the Parallels Desktop window, Windows shuts down according to how it's set in shutdown settings. To ensure that another user can't access your Windows account, set windows to shut down or stop (rather than suspend).